Dancer Emergency Kit

girl with scissorsI’m tired of loaning everything out in the dressing room. Don’t get me wrong, I love the girls I work with, and they all know that they can count on me for anything that I can spare…but after the millionth time of loaning out my pasties last night, I figured out what my next blog post would be. Here is a list of things you should always have when you go to work at any club. Make a little emergency kit of the items on this list and always bring them with you. That way you’ll never be unprepared again!

  1. Aerosol deodorant – I know we all go through this pretty quickly, so its okay if you run out and have to borrow another girl’s, but wouldn’t it be nice if for once everybody had their own? (For those of you who don’t know the joys of aerosol deodorant yet, let me tell you that it’s an amazing way of getting every little part nice and fresh just after you get off stage.)
  2. Scissors – to cut tags off of panties, to fix stray threads when they’re loose, and (boys, cover your eyes) to cut tampon strings. You’ll think of a million other uses for these at work, and you’ll be so grateful you have them.
  3. Sewing kit – Even if you don’t know how to sew, you’ll at least be able to wing it if something happens. I once had a thong break during a lap dance (embarrassing!) and was able to scurry back to the dressing room to repair it.
  4. Extra thong/g-string – (see my disaster story from #3)
  5. Pasties (i.e. glittery fabric glue… if your club requires them of course) – I know the house usually has pasties, but sometimes even the house runs out. Plus, sometimes the house has pasties in some ridiculous color like green, which only works on certain skin tones. Bring your own just in case.
  6. Hair Dryer – Even if you don’t need it for your hair, a hair dryer can help in a lot of emergencies. What will you do if a custie spills his drink on you? (I mean besides guilt him into buying you a new outfit, of course.)  Plus, if you do wear pasties, drying them with a hair dryer instead of letting them airdry makes them all shiny and pretty.
  7. Hair Straightening Iron – Again, even if you don’t use a straightener for your hairstyle, its really useful for ironing small pieces of fabric or ribbons that have gotten all crunched up in your dance bag.
  8. Tampons – Everybody’s system flakes out once in a while… better safe than sorry.

If you happen to come up with any other emergency kit items that I’ve forgotten, feel free to post a comment, or email me at autumnavery@gmail.com . Thanks!

6 Responses to Dancer Emergency Kit

  1. Amanda says:

    I always kept a small container of assorted OTC medicines (about 2 each). I had Advil for cramps, Excedrin for headaches, Tums or Pepsid AC for stomach trouble and Metabolift for quick energy. Naturally, these are the medicines I liked to use. I can’t tell you how many times I had to use them because housemom didn’t have anything. (Especially the Excedrin!)

    A couple of ponytail holders and hairpins/clips (you never know).

    And I always had a small container of baby wipes. Useful for everything.

  2. autumnavery says:

    oh, good call… the housemom never has what you need. dont forget the pepto bismal too girls! you’ll need some with all that alcohol i know you drink every night… why are all the girls i work with such lushes?
    and how could i forget babywipes? a stripper staple.
    THANKS AMANDA!

  3. I would add super glue, gum or breath mints, and body spray to this list 😉

  4. Slutty Stripper says:

    I would add hairspray, breath mints and defiently baby wipes.

  5. Stripper newby says:

    I found extra water to be a money saver. Also invest in several gel insoles for your shoes. I had a pair of brand new platforms that I stuck in one full high heel insert with like arch support and stuff, and also stuck a just balls of feet one in and it took 5 hours for my feet to be sore, on my very first night of work!

  6. Roxy says:

    NAIL GLUE!! always bring nail glue for your shoes if they ever break, because there have been plenty of times i have assumed my club had it and they were out- and i had to go home because i only brought one pair of heals with me at that time. Never forget it. And you shouldnt ever rely on someone else to have something when working as a dancer. It usually never works in your favor. Occasionally.

Leave a Reply

